Organisation Hacks

Hi all!

I hope you’re all having a lovely day, and are ready to get your butts into gear. I personally can’t get any work done if I feel disorganized, and so I had a massive organisation day shortly after Christmas. And now, I’m going to endow my knowledge, tips and hacks onto you wonderful people. When you’re organised, you can find things easier, and things are not as likely to get lost.

So, without further ado, let’s get into it!


Revamp your Wardrobe

When you have a wardrobe that you aren’t loving, it can take you so much longer to get ready in the morning. Total chaos! So, take the sales as an opportunity to revamp your wardrobe. Empty it out, try things on and make new outfits. Find things that don’t fit anymore, or things you just don’t like, and take them out of your wardrobe. Gain that space back! If you’re big on aesthetic, get yourself some new hangers, because everything looks more put together if the hangers match. Create a wardrobe and a style you really love. If you’re on a budget, there are so many shops that you find clothes that don’t blow a huge hole in your pocket.

Get Rid of Junk

There are so many things that everyone owns that are just collecting dust. Be it junk you don’t need, things you don’t use anymore or things you were too lazy to throw away (shoeboxes, old revision, etc.). GET. RID. OF. THEM. You don’t need it, and once it’s gone you’ll have more space to work with. I have a huge cupboard in my room and it’s always one of my biggest sources of disorganization, because of the amount of junk that accumulates in it. Here’s a picture of the two lower shelves after I organized:

img_3153
On the bottom shelf is my not big enough book collection, and just above it is all of my schoolwork

As you can see, there is no junk in sight. This helps to keep the room clean, and by keeping junk levels to a minimum, it helps maintain the cleanliness.

Use things to keep you organised

It’s really hard to stay organised if you don’t have things to keep organised. Hangers, door hangers, organizers, boxes, trinket trays and jars. Personally, I’m a sucker for something that’s both functional and cute, and so I managed to get quite a few things to keep my shelves tidy.

img_3163
I got the cute box and the organizer for Christmas, and I’m in love with how they look! 
img_3131
I’ll admit, I used the box from a Ted Baker set for this because it was so pretty… Using thing like this can minimize what you spend
img_3132
I keep all of my daily and smaller toiletries in this white caddy on the top of my shelves.

The over-door hangers are personally my best investment, and it’s finally given me somewhere to put my backpacks without taking up floor space in the cupboard and without creasing my clothes in my wardrobe.

img_3162
I got these hangers from Primark, and I went for the copper and white to match my bedroom 

Have a plan of action to organize your bedroom

If you’re going to do what I did, which is spend a whole day organizing, it’s best to go in with a plan. What I do is draw diagrams to visually represent where things need to go, and then I plan which area I tackle first. Having a game plan will help you decide what needs to go where in advance, so you can spend the whole day organizing as opposed to sitting in front of a huge pile of stuff and not knowing what to do with it.

Have a Planner

To stay organized with your life, it’s so good to have a planner, especially as a student. You can keep track of exams, homework and deadlines for coursework. I use two different diaries, one for my blog posts and another for school and every day life. If you don’t have one already, I highly recommend that you get one – it’s so helpful!

img_3090


That’s all I have for you today!

img_3161
@me being very very proud of my organisational skills

I’ll try to post next week, but when I will I’m not sure – I have a week filled with exams next week… I’ll do my best, but it may be late.

Also, before I go, remember Maddie? I had the lovely privilege of meeting up with her a few days ago, and had a delicious meal at Bella Italia. It was amazing to catch up with her at last, and I highly recommend you drop her a follow on her instagram @maddiexgordon if you want to learn about the struggles of CRPS but how she manages to inspire people and be so incredible at wheelchair racing.

Thanks so much for reading, and if you like what you see then please drop me a follow on my instagram and share the blog.

– Georgia xoxo

personal instagram – @georgia_swinnerton03

blogging instagram – @theselfhelpmanifesto

4 thoughts on “Organisation Hacks

Leave a comment